Skip to main content

Standard Academic Year

The standard academic year begins in September, finishes in June and consists of three terms: Sept – Dec; Jan – April and April – June. We can place a student in any of the years 1-6 and termly and semester (2 terms) placements can also be negotiated.

Age Group

Age 12 / 13

Age 13 / 14

Age 14 / 15

Academic Year

1st Year

2nd Year

3rd Year

Years 1, 2 and 3 for students aged 12-15

The Junior Cycle

Students begin secondary school at age 12 in Year 1. Over these three years, the main objective is for students to complete a broad and balanced curriculum, that includes humanities, languages, science and technology, music and arts, numeracy and literacy, along with electives. They undertake a state assessment in Third Year called the Junior Cycle Student Award before they proceed to the Senior Cycle.

Years 4, 5 and 6 for students aged 15-18

The Senior Cycle

The first year of the Senior Cycle is called Transition Year (TY) and serves as a bridge between the Junior Cycle and Senior Cycle. As TY is a stand-alone year within the system, many international students like to opt for this programme. Learn more about the 4th year experience (Transition Year).

In Year 5 & 6, students prepare for the terminal university entrance examination called the Leaving Certificate. Students study the core subjects of English, Irish and Maths and choose an additional 3-5 elective subjects from a breadth of 30 subjects. Irish is not compulsory for overseas students provided their primary education up to 11 years of age was received outside Ireland.

Age Group

Age 15 / 16

Age 16 / 17

Age 17 / 18

Academic Year

4th Year

5th Year

6th Year